If you’re looking to pop the question or shopping for your diamond ring, the options are endless. Then there’s the diamond in question. How many carats should you go for? What about the cut, the clarity, and the colour? Below, a basic guide to get you started, and why the Poh Heng Trust Diamond should be on your radar.


Only less than 5% of the world’s diamonds are eligible to be a Poh Heng Trust Diamond.

#1 Decide on your style and shape

The round shape is a favourite with many brides for its timelessness and versatility. Or if you’re more the vintage type, the cushion cut is an ideal choice. Princess, marquise and pear shapes are more unconventional and equally lovely choices for brides after more unique options. 


#2 The cut

Don’t confuse this with the shape. Rather, it refers to a diamond’s proportions, symmetry and polish. The cut of a stone determines its brilliance and fire, and its quality relies heavily on the expertise of the diamond cutter. Tiny angles or facets are made on the stone, and a poorly cut diamond can look dull regardless of colour or clarity. When it comes to round diamond cuts, you’d generally want to place your bet on Excellent or Ideal cuts which have 57 facets. 

Poh Heng Trust round solitaire diamonds are of the ideal cut, with 57 perfectly cut facets for maximum brilliance and fire. 

#3 Consider the carat

The first thing that comes to most people’s minds when discussing the quality of a diamond: the carat.

What exactly does the carat refer to? According to the GIA (Gemological Institute of America), it measures the “weight of the diamond, with a metric “carat” defined as 200 miligrams. Each carat can be subdivided into 100 ‘points.’ This allows very precise measurements to the hundredth decimal place.” 

With all other standards being equal, the value of a diamond increases with its carat weight as largers pieces are more rare and hence, more desirable. 

Whether you’re after a delicate stone of 0.30 or a magnificent 5.50 sparkler, Poh Heng’s Trust Diamond’s meticulously sourced, curated and crafted collection has ample choices to choose from. 



#4 The colour

Diamonds are naturally found in a spectrum of shades. What you should really be looking for is the absence of colour. 

A chemically pure and perfectly structured diamond has no hue, which contributes to a higher value. If you’re not familiar with the GIA’s diamond colour grading scale, it grades diamonds from D to Z, with D-grade diamonds being the purest and most colourless, and Z-grade ones having traces of yellow, gray, and brown. 

And while the distinction between E and F grade diamonds compared to D grade diamonds might not be clearly visible to the naked or untrained eye, you can count on each Trust Diamond to possess only a D grade. 


#5 The clarity

There are two types of imperfections to be found on a diamond. Blemishes which are found on the surface, and inclusions, which are found on the inside. These are also graded from FL (Flawless) to P2 and 3 (Imperfect). Choose a Trust Diamond and you can be sure of at least VS-1 (very slightly included) grade diamonds, which are also consider “eye clean”. This means the diamond possesses tiny specks that’s only visible under a microscope. 


#6 Presentation

Of course, other than the perfect spot to get down on one bent knee, presentation matters too. Each Poh Heng Trust diamond ring comes with a specially crafted box featuring an in-built light – all the better to dazzle her with the scintillation and brilliance of your chosen sparkler!

And now that you’ve gotten past the ring, the question is: “HOW DO I ASK HER TO MARRY ME?”- A 5 STEP GUIDELINE TO PLANNING YOUR PROPOSAL