The inductees in 2012’s Rock & Roll Hall of Fame will be Guns N’ Roses, Beastie Boys, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Laura Nyro, Donovan, and the Small Faces, it was announced on December 7.

Representing two different eras, the LA-based rockers GNR and the Chili Peppers join New York-based rap act Beastie Boys from the 1980s-90s.

Singer-songwriters Donovan (“Mellow Yellow,” “Sunshine Superman”) and the late Laura Nyro (“Wedding Bell Blues,” “Stoned Soul Picnic”), plus the British pop-rock group also known as The Faces (“Itchycoo Park”) hail from the 1960s-70s.

Both singer Rod Stewart and the Rolling Stones’ guitarist Ron Wood, who were members of The Faces (known earlier as The Small Faces), were previously inducted.

Also, special honors go to blues musician Freddie King for his early influence, while producers Tom Dowd (Eric Clapton, Aretha Franklin, Otis Redding) and Glyn Johns (Bob Dylan, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin) will be inducted as non-performers.

These musicians were voted in from a longer list that included The Cure, Heart, Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, Donna Summer, the Spinners and War.

The 27th Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which is open to the public, is scheduled for April 14 in Cleveland. A telecast of the event will air on HBO in May.–AFP RELAXNEWS