Alexander Wang leads CFDA nominationsAlexander Wang is battling it out against Marc Jacobs and Proenza Schouler for this year’s CFDA womenswear designer of the year award.

Last night, Diane von Furstenberg and Nadja Swarovski announced the nominees for the aforementioned prize, along with other categories.

Wang and Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler are also nominated for accessory designer of the year, along with Phillip Lim for 3.1 Phillip Lim.

Meanwhile, Vera Wang will be honoured with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.

“The CFDA Fashion Awards celebrate American design talent and the influence our industry has across the globe,” Steven Kolb, CFDA’s CEO explained in a statement.

“This year’s nominees and honourees represent the best and most creative talent of the past year as determined by a Guild of their peers.”

Special category, Swarovski award for accessory design, celebrates up-and-coming talent in the jewellery industry.

Hand-picked by the luxury crystal house this year are Irene Neuwirth, Jennifer Meyer and Pamela Love.

“We are proud to celebrate our partnership with the CFDA Fashion Awards for the twelfth consecutive year,” Nadja Swarovski, Member of the Executive Board, Swarovski Crystal Business, gushed.

“Each of this year’s nominees is an inspiring industry leader who has played a powerful role in making American fashion what it is today. Meanwhile, spearheading a new generation of American talent are the nominees for the Swarovski Awards. We hope their vision and exceptional creativity will make them leaders of the industry in years to come.”

The winners will be selected and honoured on June 3.

Full list of nominees and honourees

Womenswear Designer of the Year:

Alexander Wang

Marc Jacobs

Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernadez for Proenza Schouler

Menswear Designer of the Year:

Steven Cox and Daniel Silver for Duckie Brown

Michael Bastian

Thom Browne

Accessory Designer of the Year:

Phillip Lim for 3.1 Phillip Lim

Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler

Alexander Wang

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:

Shane Gabier and Chris Peters for Creatures of the Wind

Carly Cushnie and Michelle Ochs for Cushnie et Ochs

Erin Beatty and Max Osterweis for Suno

Swarovski Award for Menswear:

Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School

Tim Coppens

Todd Snyder

Swarovski Award for Jewellery Design:

Irene Neuwirth

Jennifer Meyer

Pamela Love

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Vera Wang

International Award: Riccardo Tisci of Givenchy

Media Award: Tim Blanks of

Founders Award: Oscar de la Renta

Board of Directors’ Tribute Award: Colleen Atwood